Route to qualification

Our latest blog is written by newly qualified lawyer Beth Price.

I have recently qualified into Taylor Vinters’ Commercial Disputes team, having done seats in Rural, Corporate, Property Litigation and Employment during my training contract. I joined Taylor Vinters nearly 4 years ago after having completed a vacation scheme with the firm and then securing a role as a paralegal in the Personal Injury department (which is now part of Slater & Gordon Lawyers).

Taylor Vinters has a six seat training contract which is great as it allows you to experience more areas of law before choosing which area you want to qualify into. In some firms with a four seat rotation you are required to choose where you want to qualify during your second or third seat, whereas at Taylor Vinters you do not chose until your fifth seat. From my role as a paralegal I already had experience of litigious and private client work, but the six seats allowed me to experience a range of other work with different types of clients. This was essential for me in finding the area of law I enjoyed and wanted to qualify into.

The process of applying for a newly qualified job can be stressful but I was fortunate that I knew early on that I wanted to qualify into the Commercial Disputes team and I was successful in securing a newly qualified position before starting my final seat with the team. There are 7 people in my trainee year, 5 of which are remaining at Taylor Vinters’ as newly qualified solicitors. As I had two years’ experience as a paralegal at Taylor Vinters I have been able to qualify in June rather than September under the SRA’s ‘time to count’ scheme. It is great that my time as a paralegal here and the experience I gained has been recognised and that it has enabled me to qualify earlier than I otherwise would have.

The trainee group gets along really well and we often meet up outside of work. It is nice to have support and to talk to people in the same position as you. Having 14 trainees across the two year groups is good as there are lots of people around the firm to ask for help and advice when you need it, but not too many that you can’t get to know people individually.

Now that I am qualified I am beginning to take on more responsibility for cases and to attend more networking events and events with clients. I had a high level of responsibility as a trainee and more client contract compared to some of my friends at other firms, so I am hoping that the transition from trainee to qualified solicitor will be a smooth one.

Leave a Reply

