Trainee times

Our first full blog comes from James Taylor a first year trainee currently working in London.

Having previously sat with the Commercial Disputes and Property Litigation teams, I opted to work in London for my third seat as a trainee. I was attracted by the opportunity that the London trainee is afforded to gain experience in a variety of legal areas during one seat. So far I have worked with the Employment, Property, Commercial Technology and Corporate teams.

I had been fortunate enough to work in the London office on several previous occasions, so my transfer to a new office was a smooth process. I swiftly integrated into the team that are permanently based there.  I have been impressed by how friendly and welcoming the London team are and from day one I felt like I was part of the office.

I have primarily carried out employment and property work.  It has been enjoyable and eye-opening to witness another side of the law that can be very different from the purely contentious work I focused on in Cambridge. I have particularly enjoyed dealing with the complex exits of high profile employees and the enforcing and disputing of restrictive covenants.  I have relished the problem solving nature of this work and exciting opportunities that the different client base in London brings. I have surprised myself by really enjoying an area of law that I had no previous experience of, either practically or academically.

My time at the London office has also enabled me to take on greater responsibility within the firm.  I am regularly entrusted with important Court documents and attending Court.  In the case of the latter, I have supported qualified solicitors at hearings; this has allowed me to learn first-hand from more experienced solicitors. I now look forward to increased responsibility and to embracing further challenges and opportunities a trainee solicitor can be exposed to.

Although I have been lucky enough to move to London, meaning that I have taken advantage of everything the city has to offer, I still maintain strong links with the Cambridge office.  I continue to take part in trainee activities and to nurture the friendships I developed there.  Having seen how welcoming the London team has been to me, I greatly value the emphasis Taylor Vinters places on teamwork and cooperation across its offices.

There are of course other benefits to working in London. The office itself is breath-taking; Taylor Vinters occupy the thirty third floor of Tower 42 in the heart of the City of London. The panoramic view displays the Gherkin, the Shard and St Pauls, to name just a few of the iconic landmarks of the London skyline visible from the office windows.  Equally, the social life is extremely enjoyable.  I have already attended client drinks and a private tour of the Crown Jewels at the Tower of London and am excited by the opportunity to take part in the rich, vibrant culture of London that Taylor Vinters proudly supports.

T42 2

T42

Leave a Reply

